Texture Editing How To

Talk about Severance Blade of Darkness modifications and maps here. No tips or tech support questions please, use the forum above. Note that the game is rated 18 so some content may be unsuitable for younger readers.

Moderators: Ade, prospero

User avatar
Tomash
Dragon
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:23 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by Tomash »

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by IrateGiant</i>


Third) Add:

1) "BodLink.list":

..\..\3DOBJS\Dwarf_H.BOD
Dwarf_H (Dwarf_H.mmp)
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

I guess your cloned model is in 3D<b>Chars</b> folder [:)]

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Sorry, my fault copying. [:D]

..\..\3dchars\Dwf_H.BOD
Dwarf_H

[;)]

EDIT\

I tried again many times but doesn´t work. [V]

EDIT2\

I tried adding the bmps of heavy armor to the original file "dwf.mmp" but doesn´t work, and appear these messages.

http://www.imaxenes.com/imagen/memory1od77u0.jpg.html

Is the file "Dwf_H.BOD" corrupted ? [B)]

Sir Random
Dragon
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2001 12:58 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sir Random »

Hi IG,
The 'heavy armour model' may be missing some vital information to link it to a character model.

Instead of trying to get a Heavy armour model working with Blade, it might be easier to make a function that does something similar.
When the Player selects the Armour, you could call a function that will do this:

Deactivate Input
Fade screen to Dark
Play 'put on armour' sound
Change Player mesh to your custom 'heavy armour skin'
Change Player Defenses to match 'Heavy Armour' settings
Wait 2 seconds
Fade screen to Light
Activate Input.

That should give you a similar result (with some tweaking).

User avatar
prospero
Ancient Dragon
Posts: 1730
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 1:42 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by prospero »

Hi IG

That's sure sign that the file is corrupted. Make another copy from the original and try again.

There is a function in ProsperoArena3 much like what SR describes to handles change of mesh. There is a corpse somewhere in a tunnel with armour. This uses a 'Ghost Pointer' (a dummy object that is used just to display an onscreen label and to assign a 'use' function to)
When you 'use' it, The screen fades - rattling sound - fade back. During the fade the Player mesh is switched, the Ghostpointer is deleted and the corpse replaced by a naked one (Ghost Pointers sometimes work better than assigning Use function to the actuall object.) As if you had stolen the armour it was wearing. Sorry I can't dig the code out as I am not on my own PC at the mo.
You can also add to such a function:

char.Data.ArmourProtectionFactor=8 #(I think 8 is maximum)

if that isn't strong enough, you can change the Player stats (Slash/Impale/Crush) dynamically in the game. Again, there is code for this somewhere but I can't remember it exactly......

Also you can divert the Player Damage Function to isolate specific body areas. So if you just put on a helmet, you could fix it so that no damage is taken if the Player were hit on the head.

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Hi SR and Pro

I think that I found the function. In "DefFuncs.py", line 791 (Put On Armour)

If I want to implement that function in the game, on the map "Palace_M15" for example, should i add the function to the end of file "DefFuncs.py" of the map, and add the armour in "objs.py"?

Other question: It's possible also that i need clone and change the file "ArmaduraDM.BOD" to "ArmaduraDH.BOD?

User avatar
prospero
Ancient Dragon
Posts: 1730
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 1:42 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by prospero »

Hi IG

All functions should be in DefFuncs.py. The reason being that DefFuncs is a Key file that is executed during a savegame load. For that reason it needs to be excactly that name. Other Key files are: MusicEvents, DefAnims, etc. All other files are executed once only on intial load. Otherwise you would get duplicated objects/chars. If you put any functions in other files they will only be recognised during a non-saved game.

Not sure why you would need to clone armour model. (???)

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Sorry for the question. [:I]

It isn´t necessary because I have assigned "Coraza2" as heavy armor for the dwarf. [:D]

EDIT\

I added some details to the heavy armor. [:)]

http://www.imaxenes.com/imagen/heavy1gt87hk.bmp.html

charly
Dragon
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:52 am
Location: Hungary

Post by charly »

brutalo [:D]

on this weekend I try to make the skin pack, so next week could be online

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Hi everyone! , I created a new shield: [8D]

The Shield of Perseus from God of War 2. [:p] I hope you like it. [;)]

http://www.imaxenes.com/imagen/perseuss ... m.bmp.html

One question: how do i to change the level of protection for the shield? [:I]

P.S. charly, I want your pack ... now! xD

Sir Random
Dragon
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2001 12:58 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sir Random »

Good job IG [:D]

The shield attributes are set in \Lib\Reference.py, but I think you can overwrite them from a script in your map folder.

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Thanks SR, but I have many doubts: [V]

The shield only appears because I modified the file "weapons.mmp" (replaced ESCUDO4.bmp)

Other way: I cloned and edited the file "escudo4.BOD" and I changed to "escudot.BOD". And I have created a unique texture for "escudot.BOD", and I called "ESCUDOT.mmp".

Here my questions:

First) In folder 3DObjs, i add the files "escudot.BOD" and "ESCUDOT.mmp"

Second) In "BodLink.list", add:

..\..\3DOBJS\escudot.BOD
ESCUDOT

Third) In Lib\Reference.py, add:

DefaultObjectData['escudot']= [OBJ_SHIELD,-0.5, 7000, GolpeArmaEscudoMetal, 180.0*DEG2RADS, 3000, 1250, 10]

Fourth) In ObjIds, add:

Reference.DefaultSelectionData['escudot']=(8.0,4000.0,"Escudo de Perseo")

For test:

In map Ragnar_M2, I replaced the shield of Ragnar for the "escudot", but don´t work! [xx(]

What can I do? [:(]

User avatar
prospero
Ancient Dragon
Posts: 1730
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 1:42 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by prospero »

Could be case sensitivity.....

If the internal name is ESCUDOT, then you must always use this to create the model and in any references in other code. The Name of the .BOD file isn't important except in quoting it in the file path in the BodLink.list.


DefaultObjectData['ESCUDOT']= [OBJ_SHIELD,-0.5, 7000, GolpeArmaEscudoMetal, 180.0*DEG2RADS, 3000, 1250, 10]



** btw. Shields must always be created with the Object class "Weapon" at the end. And must always have:

ItemTypes.ItemDefaultFuncs("NameOfSheild")

after creation code or they won't deflect blows.

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

At last! Thanks Pro, SR, Tomash and everyone for the help. [:D]

Soon I'll post more models for weapons. [;)]

charly
Dragon
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:52 am
Location: Hungary

Post by charly »

hi here it is

any problem, any bug u find, just write me,

Image

Code: Select all

http://rapidshare.com/files/357400072/bodskin_pack2.rar
there are some other skins in finish so the pack3 comes soon

in this pack u will find skins which got storyline, I wanan finish that to, just ppl will understand why some skins are created so like u see in this pack, like black knigth (lord Kelnor) or the evil black barbar and evil dwarf, some of them got colored magic stones on their chest, all this got reasons [:D]

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Really Amazing charly! [:0] Great work! [;)]

I will add the game to have different skins for the same characters. [:p]

It's going to be awesome! [:D]


P.S. charly, I sent you a message to your address from the file "readme_important" [;)]

Post Reply