LED Question

Talk about Severance Blade of Darkness modifications and maps here. No tips or tech support questions please, use the forum above. Note that the game is rated 18 so some content may be unsuitable for younger readers.

Moderators: prospero, Ade

Post Reply
User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Thanks SR!! [:)]

User avatar
prospero
Ancient Dragon
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 1:42 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by prospero »

That happens when you close LED with no MP loaded. Or something like that. Annoying as you have to set all your preferences over again.

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Hi again guys! [:)]

I come with more questions about Led [;)]

My problem is about texture mapping and the creation of exteriors.

Here a pics with the problem:

Image

Image

As you can see the land don´t appear together.

Is it possible that the texture "null" is placed over the texture of the wall? [xx(]

How can i fix this? [:I]

Sir Random
Dragon
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2001 12:58 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sir Random »

EDIT\
How many sectors are in that map? It looks like it should have 4, but your second pic looks like the middle area is a sector too?

If you're trying to make a central column, then delete the sector in the middle.

You can't have a solid visible wall without leaving an 'empty' area between sectors. The visible wall in your pic is probably there because the vertices don't connect properly, you need to be very careful when joining sectors, that the vertices are exactly matched.

It looks like the righthand sector (highlighted in first pic) is detached from the other sectors.

What are you trying to create?

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

OK, thanks SR and yes!, i try to create a tower [;)]

EDIT\

SR, it's true, the exterior sectors are detached, because is only for test. But I find it strange clear the central sector [?], because I want to create a tower with several levels of height and spiral stairs. [:)]

Sir Random
Dragon
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2001 12:58 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sir Random »

Ok, you need to leave a gap for the tower wall. Make the middle sector smaller, so there is a gap all the way around. You can then add a small sector on one side as a doorway to the tower.


This is what you need for a hollow tower (Red X is in doorway):

Image

Note:
If you CUT OUT the centre of the tower, then you can't ADD steps later. You have to think ahead about what the interior will look like, and only cut out the hollow bits.

User avatar
prospero
Ancient Dragon
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 1:42 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by prospero »

Hi IG.

You have to be careful to only put the NULL texture on edges that are on the outside of the map. They won't cancel out if they join another sector like normal textures.

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

OK, many thanks SR, i'll try to follow this steps. [;)]

Hi pro! [:)] and thanks!, That was one of my biggest doubts. [:D]

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

OK guys [:)] here two pics of the map:

Image

Image

I have a doubt about EBrowser [:D]

In second pic, i placed two torches to the wall, but not correctly positioned, because the rotation varies from top to bottom or left to right.

And other doubt with led [:I]

How can i create a second floor for the tower with a stairs?

Sir Random
Dragon
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2001 12:58 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sir Random »

Very nice!
You should set the doorway ceiling much lower, maybe 4000 above floor height.

To add stairs, you'll have to make the interior sector smaller (to make a solid area from which you can carve the steps):
Image

and then add a new sector for each step:
Image

These are just example pics, you should really figure out what height the ceiling will be, how high your steps will be, and figure out how many steps you need etc,..

To add another floor, just place another sector on top of the existing one (obviously the floor must be higher than the ceiling of the sector beneath it!).

It might be best to get comfortable with basic stuff before doing multi-level maps.


I haven't used EBrowser yet, so I'm not sure what you mean.
Try setting the Torchs Orientation to: 0, 0, 0.5, -0.5

esfumato
Dragon
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 7:36 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by esfumato »

Everything works with sectors, you only have to figure out what part will be solid and what will be a hole.

This is an example with to sectors, one above the other with different heights for floor and roof.

Dos sectores iguales uno encima del otro con distintas alturas para el suelo y el techo.

|------------| Techo (Roof) 9
| |
| |
| |
|------------| Suelo (floor) 5
|xxxxxxxxxxxx|
|------------| Techo (roof) 4
| |
| |
| |
|------------| suelo (floor) 0

For the stairs you only have to do sectors with diferents heights for the floor.

|--------------------------| all the roofs (techos) 10
|
|
|---|Suelo 1.5
xxxx|---|Suelo 1.25
xxxxxxxx|---|Suelo 1
xxxxxxxxxxxx|---| Suelo 0.75
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx|---|Suelo 0.5
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx|---|Suelo 0.25
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx|--- Suelo 0 (Diferent floor height)


Tambien puedes hacer la escalera dejando hueco suelo y techo y dejando solido el escalón.

Example with 2 sectors for every footstep to let hole the rest.

|--------------------------| all the roofs (techos) 10
|
|1.50
|----|1.25
|----|----| 1
|1.25|----|----|0.75
|....|1...|----|----| 0.5
|....|....|0.75|----|----|0.25
|....|....|....|0.5.|----|----|
|....|....|....|....|0.25|----|--- Suelo 0 (Diferent floor height)

All the floors at 0 and diferent roofs heights.

User avatar
prospero
Ancient Dragon
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 1:42 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by prospero »

The EBrowser is a great tool once you get used to it.

Rotating things can be tricky. It's not always easy to tell which way it's going. The * will cycle though the axes. When doing torches, it's a good idea to set the position increment lower (default is 200).Then you can get them just the right distance from the wall. The bracket should overlap the wall slightly. If they don't they will stay put, but it you hit them they will fall to the ground. Same with other objects that you don't want to move.

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Many thanks guys! [:)], i would be lost without help. [:D]

I will work with the map and show the results.

And a last question that i forget yesterday.

When I place an object with EBrowser on my map, what should i do to keep this as a file ".py"?

EDIT\

First model of ladder [:D]

Image

And more doubts [:I]

Is possible copy a sector for avoid the creation of a similar sector from scratch? [;)]

Sir Random
Dragon
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2001 12:58 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sir Random »

Looking good!

Yes, you can copy a sector (or multiple sectors) by selecting the sectors you want to copy, then hold down the 'SHIFT' key and drag the sectors with the mouse to where you want them. When you release the mouse button, the new sectors are created.

User avatar
IrateGiant
Dragon
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by IrateGiant »

Thanks SR! I advance step by step [:D]

But i´ve more problems [:(]

Image

The outer edges of the tower are part of the land, not the tower, for this reason, if i increase the height of the exterior, the tower also be higher. When i try to see the tower from a position above the roof the image collapses. [xx(]

Have the problem any solution? or is necessary build the map again? [:(]

Post Reply