Can't run BOD on Win 10

Blade of Darkness general discussion and game help forum. Discuss anything related to Severance / BoD (except modding, use the forum below) Note: Possible spoilers!

Moderators: prospero, Ade

Post Reply
vincenzo5000
Hatchling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:04 pm

Can't run BOD on Win 10

Post by vincenzo5000 »

Hi all,
I love Blade of Darkness and wanted to get it running to show my son now that he is old enough. I had the game working on past operating systems, but Win 10 is proving to be a tough nut to crack. For the last two weeks I have been reading the forum's and applying all manner of suggestions to get in game. Thankfully there are many resources still available. In my recent attempts i get either; 1. no video/black menu text(can't select character), 2. crash after configure video settings on startup or 3. crash after intro video completes and when new screen tries to open. After about 10 different installs going sour, I would like to ask if someone (running on Win 10) would lend a helping hand...

I have Severance on disk
I have tried;
--plain install w/dx8, no patch
--install plus patch, no dx8
--Direct Play is enabled/installed
--tried altering compatibility settings, all of them.
--glide, BODloader, noCD, dgVoodoo2_63
AMD 3900X (H100i Pro) - GB Aorus Elite - 16g GSkill 3200 - EVGA FTW Hybrid 1080 - Samsung SSD's

User avatar
cieply
Dragon
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 3:43 pm

Re: Can't run BOD on Win 10

Post by cieply »

l'aria fresca,
vino puro, ...

vincenzo5000
Hatchling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:04 pm

Re: Can't run BOD on Win 10

Post by vincenzo5000 »

Thanks, I'll give this a try...
AMD 3900X (H100i Pro) - GB Aorus Elite - 16g GSkill 3200 - EVGA FTW Hybrid 1080 - Samsung SSD's

vincenzo5000
Hatchling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:04 pm

Re: Can't run BOD on Win 10

Post by vincenzo5000 »

@cieply,

Thanks, I got it running on D3D, fullscreen and at 1080.

1. Clean install
2. Patch
3. Installed BOD Optimization Config (overlaying files - no removal)
4. Ran setup.exe, rOpenGL wasn't working (crashed on launch), so tried D3D and it works.

Now to work on 1440...
AMD 3900X (H100i Pro) - GB Aorus Elite - 16g GSkill 3200 - EVGA FTW Hybrid 1080 - Samsung SSD's

User avatar
Nihilist_Militant
Hatchling
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:31 am

Re: Can't run BOD on Win 10

Post by Nihilist_Militant »

Yes, you ran this, but this config have removed sun and other light objects, and when you meet burning skeletons your PC will die. If you want play true original and smooth game:

1. Install game and patch
2. Download DgVoodoo2 and do d3d actions (MS folder files to Bin)
3. In dgvoodoo2.exe general options choose window mode (only window mode for this, never play fullscreen), in directx choose 1280x960 resolution (or Max ISF), fast video memory and Vsync, others what you want.
4. In game launcher choose d3d and 640x480x32 (this is most important part that remove FPS drops)
5. Now you can play true original smooth game in 4:3 res and without any fog, square, flickers/fps problem.

Image

vincenzo5000
Hatchling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:04 pm

Re: Can't run BOD on Win 10

Post by vincenzo5000 »

@Nihilist_Militant,

Good info. As soon as I hit a cutscene I had freezes. I applied your settings, but went 1920x1440. So far no probs through several cutscenes.
Much appreciated.
AMD 3900X (H100i Pro) - GB Aorus Elite - 16g GSkill 3200 - EVGA FTW Hybrid 1080 - Samsung SSD's

Post Reply